Municipal taxes
Skip to main content
Municipal taxes
Municipal taxes

Learn more

In this page

See also

Municipal tax payments

The municipal tax bill for 2019 can be paid in two instalments, and the payment dates are:

  • February 4, 2019
  • July 2, 2019

No further notice will be sent for the second payment due on July 2, 2019.

If the balance of the municipal tax bill for 2019 is less than $300, the total amount is due by February 4, 2019.

Municipal tax payment deferral for flood victims

Property owners who were hit by the flood may defer and spread out their next municipal tax payment. For the next payment, due on July 2, 2019, 50% can be deferred to the first tax payment in 2020 (February 2020), and the other 50% can be paid with the second tax payment in 2020 (June 2020). No interest or penalty will be charged to any property owner opting to defer their next municipal tax payment.

Methods of payment

You have several options for paying your municipal taxes:

  • pre-authorized deductions by Ville de Gatineau;
  • through your financial institution's Internet or telephone banking service;
  • through the teller or ATM at most caisses populaires, chartered banks or caisses d'économie;
  • by mail, using the stubs and return envelopes provided;
  • at any municipal service centre during office hours; or
  • by dropping your stub and cheque or money order in one of the service centre deposit boxes.

Click here for service centre locations and hours.

Contact us


Phone: 819-243-2400

Fax: 819-243-2380

About Gatineau

Recognized for its quality of life, Gatineau is a city of 285,000 inhabitants. It is located on the north shore of the Ottawa River, and extends east and west of the Gatineau River.

Return to top of page